BYU Falls in RMLC Title Game, Gets Strong Seeding for Nationals

Courtesy of BYU Lacrosse

BYU Men’s Lacrosse falls to CSU in RMLC Championship, receives No. 3 seed for national tournament

Courtesy of BYU Lacrosse

The BYU Men’s Lacrosse team competed in the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference playoffs last weekend in Grand Junction, Colo.

The Cougars received the No. 1 seed for conference playoffs and faced the No. 4 seed University of Utah Utes on Friday for RMLC semi-finals. No. 2 seed Colorado State faced No. 3 seed University of Colorado also on Friday.

The Cougars took an early lead against Utah, opening the second quarter with a goal that brought the score to 5-1. BYU would not score again during the first half, however, and the Utes went on a 3-0 run almost tying the game before halftime.

BYU came out strong in the second half and was ultimately able to shut out the Utes during the fourth quarter, ending the game with a score of 13-7.

CSU won the semi-final game against CU, causing Saturday’s No. 1 BYU vs. No. 2 CSU conference championship to look like an exact rematch of the 2011 conference championship.

The Cougars scored first in Saturday’s matchup, but the Rams came back and never let down. The score going into the half was 11-4 in favor of CSU.

Both teams’ defenses held strong during the third quarter, proving almost to be a scoreless quarter until BYU scored with less than one minute remaining in the third. Though BYU scored twice more during the fourth, it was not enough to close the gap, and CSU came out with the win and a final score of 14-7.

As RMLC Champions, CSU received an automatic bid to the Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association National Tournament in Greenville, S.C. as a No. 2 seed.

BYU received an at-large bid to the tournament with a No. 3 seed, and will be facing No. 14 seed Virginia Tech on May 14 in Greenville.

The Brigham Young University Men’s Lacrosse Team is a proud member of the Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA). The Cougars have won four MCLA National Championship Titles – 1997, 2000, 2007 and 2011, and have been honored with more than 100 All-Americans who have proudly worn the Y. For more information, please visit and follow at